lovehopesandbaby

Just another WordPress.com site

26 weeks!

Today is Baby W’s 26 week birthday! Time is moving very quickly, and I am feeling great :). I have been focusing on eating a healthy diet and getting my walking in. I walked over 20 miles last week, and have clocked 15 miles so far this week. I can feel a big difference in my energy level and am sleeping much better. Since I am walking 3-6 miles a day, I am making sure to eat a little more and drink significantly more water everyday. I have also been stretching more, which has reduced my hip pains, and has helped me get more comfortable sleep. Thank goodness!

26 Weeks (14 to go)

Baby W is the size of a head of lettuce!

My major complaint still tends to be heartburn! It really does suck, and sneaks up when I least expect it. I have tried eating smaller meals, eliminating spicy food, and eating dinner at least 2 hours before bedtime, but very little works. The worst is when I wake up at 3am with awful heartburn. Thankfully, generic tums are still working to fend off the pain, but I would prefer to use something more natural to combat it. The midwife we met with during our last appointment suggested papaya, but I keep forgetting to pick it up at the store.

I also have plenty of great news to share. First, we chose our birth doula! I am very excited to work with her, and can’t wait for our first meeting to develop our birth plan. I know the birth plan is more of a guide and is tentative, since every labor is different, but having a plan will help me to feel more in control, and better about the whole thing. I have also started to research what I need to pack in my hospital bag. I am planning to get it together at the beginning of my third trimester in a few weeks – yay! I also love the idea of bringing the maternity nurses little gift bags, so I am going to begin brainstorming what can go in their little gift bags. At this point, I know they will include a copy of my birth plan, treats, and some baked goods.

Second, Baby W is kicking up a storm. He’s been kicking for a while now, but he’s picked up the pace considerably over the last few weeks. He really enjoys kicking early in the morning, around 5am or so. I guess it’s his way of preparing me for middle-of-the-night feedings :). I have to say feeling him kick is one of the most amazing things I have ever experienced.

Third, I am getting so excited for my baby shower! YAY! I am truly blessed to have amazing friends and family, and I can’t wait to spend time with everyone! Our families have been very generous — my parents are buying all of our cloth diapers, so we are set until Baby W is potty-trained! And, my in-laws just ordered our crib and crib mattress — yay!! So exciting :). I am so grateful for the love and generosity — thank you, thank you, thank you!

Finally, I am beginning our search for a nanny for when I return to work. As you may know, I am fortunate enough to work from home, so we are planning to keep Baby W home with me, and hire a nanny PT to help out while I am working.  There is still a lot of work to do on this front, but at least it’s started.

Hope you’re all having a great week!
Baby Dust!

 

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “26 weeks!

  1. You are looking great!
    Labor & Delivery are made so much better with a Doula. I say this from experience! Are you doing a home birth?
    It sounds like your preparing as best as possible! Good for you!

    The next 14 weeks will go quickly. I myself only have 5.5 weeks left and am counting down the days!

  2. I just nominated you for the Leibster Blogger Award! If you want to participate check it out on my blog. 🙂
    laughingpromises.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

