lovehopesandbaby

Just another WordPress.com site

The Waiting Game…

Now comes the agonizing part of a positive pregnancy test — waiting and praying. Tomorrow, I have my second beta check and hope to have the numbers at least double, which means the pregnancy is healthy. 2-3 days later I will have a third Beta check, and again am hoping that the numbers at least double from the second check. After three healthy betas, we will go in for our first ultrasound to make sure the pregnancy is in my uterus and growing healthily. We will continue weekly ultrasounds with my RE until I am 8-9 weeks. Hopefully, everything will go well, and at the 8-9 week, I will graduate to my regular OB/GYN for regular check-ups and my eventual delivery.

This is actually the hardest part of the journey for me. I over-analyze every pregnancy symptom to see if it’s getting worse from the day before — am I feeling nauseous, am I tired, etc? With the OHSS, I am still very bloated and uncomfortable, but the pain isn’t as bad, which of course makes me worry that my beta levels aren’t rising quickly enough. It could also mean that following the doctor’s orders is helping to alleviate some of the swelling, or maybe I am just getting used to the pain. The pain is also worse at night than it is during the morning, but I am still concerned that it is a bad sign.

I am doing my best to stay positive, but with such a frustrating track record of early pregnancy loss, I feel like I am walking on egg shells. And, of course, there is absolutely nothing that I can do to make this all work out. I am eating healthy, getting plenty of rest, and trying to stay positive, but the worry still creeps in and makes me a bit crazy.

Praying for more good news tomorrow! The next 9 months will continue to be a series of small victories and, in order to stay sane, I have to celebrate them when they happen.

Happy Friday to all!

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Waiting Game…

  1. I know how awful this waiting part is – the constant worrying. I’d say “Just take care of yourself and what’s meant to be will be,” but that phrase made me want to slap people when I was pregnant! (Including my doctor) I have all my fingers and toes crossed for you!! Good luck with your beta tomorrow. 🙂

    • Thank you! I normally do well with the idea that ‘I can only control what’s in my control’ mantra, but on blood work days it doesn’t work as well. Good news today, so now I just have to get through Tuesday. Lol. Hugs

Leave a Reply

