lovehopesandbaby

Just another WordPress.com site

Cautiously Optimistic!

Whew… It’s been an exciting couple of day! First, I actually won an argument with Aetna. Apparently, there was some sort of “computer glitch” which caused them to deny my IVF claims, so everything will be reviewed and approved shortly! Thank goodness for small miracles 🙂

Secondly, I am feeling super positive about this cycle! Yesterday morning, I woke up with a sore right ovary. As the day lingered on, I started to feel my left  ovary. They actually feel similar to how they felt prior to the transfer — large and uncomfortable. I am also more bloated, have awful indigestion, am drinking more, and am exhausted. I called the doctor’s office due to the pain my ovaries were causing, and, after a few questions, the nurse explained that I have a mild case of Ovarian Hyper Stimulation Syndrome (OHSS). This typically happens before the retrieval or transfer, and is caused by the stimulation meds — basically your ovaries over-produce follicles and begin to fill with fluid. This apparently can also happen after the transfer, and is usually triggered by an increase in HCG (the pregnancy hormone) in your system! When I met with my RE this morning, he checked my ovaries and my weight (ugh!), and confirmed that I have a mild case of OHSS. He also said that this is GOOD news because it most likely means that I am pregnant :). I hope he’s right 🙂

Thursday, here I come!

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Cautiously Optimistic!

  1. Bring on the OHSS! If that means pregnancy, so be it. Awesome news. Thursday will be a glorious day.

  2. Congrats on your insurance victory! Good luck. So many fingers crossed for you! 🙂

  3. Oh Devon, I am hoping the OHSS is caused by PREGNANCY! Only a few more days until you know for sure!

Leave a Reply

