lovehopesandbaby

Just another WordPress.com site

Transfer Tuesday!

Tomorrow is the BIG day — embryo/blastocyst transfer day! I am excited, nervous, and happy all at the same time. We have to be at my RE’s office at 11:15 tomorrow morning with a full bladder . First, we will meet with the embryologist to discuss their quality, talk about how many embryos to transfer, as well as figure out which embryos to cryopreserve for later. After that chat, my acupuncturist will apply points before the procedure to increase blood flow to my uterus. She will also do a post-transfer treatment to encourage implantation. There is plenty of research to support the use of acupuncture before, during, and after IVF, so I am going to give it a shot.  

Unlike the egg retrieval, the transfer is relatively easy and painless (just a little uncomfortable due to the full bladder). After our embryologist meeting, I will take a Valium to relax my uterus and will then prep for the transfer. Just like the retrieval, the transfer will take place in the OR — because the embryos are so sensitive, it’s important to be in a very sterile environment. My Dr will open my cervix and use a catheter to carefully place 2 embryos in my uterus. It only takes a few minutes, and wah-lah, I am pregnant! To make sure the embryos stick, I will “recover” with acupuncture and laying still for an hour. When we get home, I have to take it easy, so hubby will have to pamper me even more than normal :). Can’t wait!

Baby dust!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Transfer Tuesday!

  1. Will be thinking of you today and wishing you all the best!

  2. Wishing you all the best today! Happy baby thoughts!

  3. queenelizabethi on said:

    Good luck!!

  4. I like the “pamper me more” idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

